My one week of Summer Vacation

Since I graduated on Friday and don’t start my new job until next Monday, I have one week of summer vacation. During this week, I’ve really tried to relax and enjoy doing nothing, but this is proving more challenging that I thought! I’m so used to going going going, that waking up and having nothing planned is a new experience for me. So, today I decided to make my own plans. Did my grocery shopping at Costco and Trader Joe’s and walked away with some awesome food (more on that to follow this week. Then decided to do some quality studying time at one of my favorite coffee shops, Mokabes. It’s on the corner of Arsenal and Grand and it rocks. They have amazing French Dips, Portabello mushroom burgers, falafel, salads, soups, basic their food rocks. Today I went with a delicious cup of tea and settled into study food science.

So  I was studying away, trying to stay conscious of the time since I had Crossfit at 4:300, but somehow in my mind I thought Crossfit was at 5:30, so clueless Katie is sitting studying away. At 4:30 i get a call asking if I’m coming to class today, and proceed to realize my brains error. This ended up with me sprinting down my street to my house to get my shoes and get into the car all within like 3 minutes in order to get to class at a some what reasonable time. This was my first real Crossfit class since graduating from the On-Ramp Sessions last night.

yay we did it!
Today’s workout really focused on the upper back. I definitely got a great workout from that and spinning right after. To feel the upper back burn, an upper back workout has been posted for your enjoyment. Right after spinning, I hopped in the car and raced home to grab my picnic grub for Free Concert Wednesday’s in the Botanical Gardens. We had a nice little picnic and enjoyed some jazz.  I brought some Cowboy Caviar (recipe to follow), veggies with dip and some delicious wine.

Sarah, Jess, and I enjoying the lovely evening
After surveying the other picnics, ours is definitely lacking in a few areas: we need a picnic basket, plastic wine glasses, and maybe some lawn chairs with a little table. Time to go garage sale hunting 🙂 As I finish writing this, I am getting sleepy and its clearly time for bed. Night!!
Katie 

Cowboy Caviar
Ingredients
2 cups canned black-eyed peas
1 medium red onion, chopped
1 serrano chopped, seeds and veins removed
green bell pepper, chopped
red bell pepper, chopped
3 Roma tomatoes, chopped
Pinch cayenne
Directions
Blue corn tortillas, as an accompaniment
Combine all ingredients in a bowl except tortillas. Heat tortillas in 350 degrees F oven for 5 minutes. Serve immediately.
Leave a Reply

