Midwest Summer Nights

Spending an entire summer in the midwest (St. Louis), is a new experience to me. Prior to this summer, I have spent most of my life and pretty much all of my summers in wonderful Colorado. 
Keystone Colorado Golf course
Probably a bad picture for comparision because I think its absolutely stunning. However, tonight provided me with a different type of stunning, simplicity. The bugs were making sweet music, it wasn’t too hot, and everything was peaceful.

This picture does not portray the peacefulness but it kind of helps to show the simplicity. This evening was the simple, slow evening I’ve needed for awhile. I made some Bob’s Red Mill Irish Soda Biscuits (recipe to follow), had a class of wine, leftover veggies, and read my book. (Oh and a bit of strawberry frozen yogurt with some delicious chocolate)
Irish Soda Biscuits
2 cups of the mix
1/4 cup oil
1/3 cup water

mix, form into balls and bake at 450F for 8-10 minutes. 
And viola you have A-MAZING biscuits.

I like mine not too done, so their soft and delicious. 
Maybe it was the biscuits, or the stillness of the night, or my accomplishments in my yoga class but today was a great day. 
Nutrition  Fact of the Day:

The Muffin  Method of baking requires  sifting the dry ingredients together into the bowl that is used for mixing; In another bowl beat the eggs, liquid, and melted fat. Make a hole in the bowl with the dry ingredients and poor the wet ingredients into the hole.
The Biscuit Method of baking requires you to sift the dry ingredients together, add in the fat into the mixture and then the liquid. 

In the Irish soda biscuits, the oil would be the fat, so add that first, mix then add the water. 

A song that describes today pretty well: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RXNBtj5g930 One sweet world by Dave Matthews.

xoxo
Katie 



One thought on “Midwest Summer Nights

Leave a Reply

