clothing swap wonders and the super food: Chia Seeds

Clothing Swaps are a fantastic reason to clean out your closet, get rid of clothes you haven’t worn in awhile as well as pick up some great gently used items from people you know. Last night, I participated in such event.  However, before I went to the swap, I stopped at Whole Foods after working out. I’ll be honest, I rarely shop at Whole Foods because it doesn’t quite fall into the graduate students budget, but every once in awhile it’s just a must to go there. Boy did i pick some winners. The take home, Flax Plus waffles, Chia seeds, California Quinoa salad, Seduction bread, regular hummus and sun-dried tomato hummus, Wisconsin aged cheddar cheese, Big House White Wine, and Cloudline Pinot Noir. Cloudline is one of my all time favorite wines (thanks mom for introducing me to this delicious bottle). 
From Whole Foods I headed to the swap and organized my clothes in the piles. 

We had a delicious pot luck meal and the swapping began.

My goal was to come home with nothing. I have a full closet of clothes even after going through clothes to donate. My goal was not accomplished but I didn’t do too terribly bad, one pair of shoes, one plaid shirt, and one sweater. Pretty good in my book.

My love for shoes overcame me and I had to snatch these beauties up (not that I need anymore shoes).

So I’m giving myself a half pat on the back for coming back with less than I brought. The night ended with replying to emails, facebooking, pinteresting.
This mornings alarm was a rude awakening and I was a struggle waking up. 

Water and coffee were musts, as were the several rounds of each I had. I will admit even as  someone who has studied nutrition for the past what 4-5 years, I am chronically dehydrated. When talking about hydration, do as I say, not as I do.

(thank goodness the clock on the in picture is off by like a half an hour otherwise I’d be crazy late for work!)
Morning breakfast consisted of those delicious flax waffles with PB2 and chia seeds and COFFEE. Quite delicious. Lunch and dinner were left overs and not worth documenting. 
Chia seeds are new to my pantry.  They are a bit spendy but in my opinion worth every penny because of all of the nutritious benefits. Chia seeds are high in fiber (keep you full longer), and a decent amount of protein in them. They also have minerals that our bodies need like phosphorus, calcium, magnesium, iron, zinc, and copper. The fat content is what I get SO excited about. They are high in polyunsaturated fats, especially omega-3s!! Omega-3s are my all time favorite fats ( probably pretty biased as I work with patients with cardiovascular issues). There are so many good things about omega-3s that I will need a whole separate post dedicated to them. 
Verdict try Chia Seeds.
In other news, I registered for my RD exam. I’m taking it on June 28th. So if my posts become more sporadic that is the reason. The nutrition facts of the day may also increase due to date approaching. Back to the homework I keep putting off 🙂 

Nutrition  Fact of the Day

Today’s nutrition fact ties in omega-3s as well as clothing. 
Metabolic Syndrome criteria: 
  • Fasting blood glucose  100 mg/dL 
  •  blood pressure greater or equal to  ≥ 130/85 mm Hg
  •  triglyercides  ≥ 150 mg/dL
  •  HDL cholesterol < 40 mg/dL in men or < 50 mg/dL in women
  •  BMI > 30 
  •  Waist to hip ratio men: >40 in; women >35 in. 

Omega 3s help lower cholesterol, increase HDL, decrease triglycerides, and may help lower blood pressure; you can help combat  3 of the criteria by eating chia seeds!!

xoxo,

Katie  
Leave a Reply

