Survival without a phone

I survived without my phone. I made it from 7:30 to 3:30 without a phone. Quite an accomplishment my friends. I had to use an actual calculator to calculate nutrition needs and goal rates, not check my email every hour but only once, and I didn’t have to worry about not calling someone back until I was off work because I couldn’t.
I ‘ll be honest, it was kind of liberating not being connected to everything all the time. It made me realize how dependent upon my phone I am. I freak out if it doesn’t work, or don’t have it with me. I may have to go cellphoneless a bit more often to give myself some more peace of mind ūüėČ but for now i’ll keep my phone with me!
So tonight I had the girls over for the Bachelorette. What did you all think of tonight’s show. I thought she blew the whole producer-Arie situation a bit out of the water, but it did make for good tv drama. I’m excited for home town dates. We may have to do a potluck of bringing some unique dish from your home town. However tonight I made what can get rid of from my freezer and pantry. Here’s what I ended up with
It was delicious. This won’t have nutrition facts or ¬†a real recipe because I don’t have exact amounts, most was stuff frozen!!
I started out by boiling about a half a box of Mostaccioli (not wheat ūüė¶ but still¬†Delicious)
Then I added these ingredients, one a at time!

 Chopped peppers
¬†trader joe’s chicken
 artichokes
 pasta
 Fire roasted tomatoes from trader joes
 basil
 Homemade pasta sauce, more seasonings *redpepper flakes, more basil, orgeano

then stuck it in the fridge to wait to be baked! ( I prepped this last night)

 When I woke up, I decided I was going to have a mini breakfast so I could take my antiinflammatory for the good ol ankle so i had some toast and raspberry spread, coffee, and water.
Overnight oats, left over saturday night dinner followed however no pic since I didn’t have my phone.
However before my workout, I had a little snack of carrots and a mini luna bar with water.
Raced home to watch the bachelorette (crossfit ends at 6:30 which I usually don’t end up leaving til 6:45), added cheese to my creation, and popped it in the oven to bake. I was so excited to watch the bachelorette I forgot to take pics again.¬†
¬†This is the end product. I’d say it was a hit and I have some good leftovers for lunch ūüôā
The great thing about this post, is that you don’t have to plan an elaborate meal. You literally can take some protein, vegetables and a bit of starch, throw it in a casserole dish and bake it. Just watch your portion size. This will help to control your calories. I would say a portion would be about a cup. For those of you who are gluten free, adding lentils or garbanzo beans instead of pasta makes this more protein and fiber packed and takes away the gluten!
Nutrition Fact of the Day:
The formal term  or diagnostic term for gluten free is Celiac Sprue diet and this excludes wheat, rye, barley, and oats. 
Fact number 2: 
This dish would not be good if you need to increase iron absorption because of the cheese added. Calcium decreases iron absorption. So if you’re concerned with your iron absorption with this dish, nix the cheese :).¬†

As you can tell, my brain is on RD exam mode. 3 days away. I’m trying not to stress about it, but stress just seems to sneak up on me.¬†

Tomorrow we’ll discuss a quick 30 minute circuit that’ll get your cardio up and tone your arms and legs ¬†as well as talking more about hydration, want you all who are in St. Louis to be prepared for the 100+ weather we are about to have!
Well off to review for a few then hit the hay, work in the morning!

xoxo,


Katie 
Leave a Reply

