Saturday tastes

I was pretty wiped after last night and a long day of work and ended up sleeping in a bit. I love saturdays because I can make a delicious breakfast. Today’s breakfast was Flax-seed Banana Pancakes. So good!! They have cinnamon chips, blueberries, whole wheat, flaxseed, and of course bananas!!
Waiting patiently for the pancakes to cook.
Finally, time to eat! My PB2 ran all over my plate making it not such a pretty picture.

Flaxseed Banana Pancakes

Ingredients:
1.5 cups whole wheat flour
1 tsp baking powder
1 cup skim milk
1 large egg
1 medium banana
1/2 cup of blueberries
1/4 cup cinnamon chips
1 tsp vanilla
1 tsp cinnamon
Instructions:
Beat the eggs, and slowly poor in the milk, vanilla, and add the cinnamon. Mix well.

Add in the banana, blueberries, and cinnamon chips.

Add the flour and baking powder.

Mix all together.
Heat your pan or griddle and spoon onto heated pan, about 2 inches wide. 
Flip once they start to bubble.
Enjoy! 

Nutrition Info
Per pancake:
Calories 107.9 Protein:  3.2g Total Fat:2.6g,  Carbohydrate: 19.7g, Fiber: 3.2.

Printable recipe: Flax-seed banana pancakes

 After breakfast, I replied to some emails then headed to Cafe Ventana to take online midterm test.
These tests are always harder than I expect them to be. It took me awhile. I had planned on going straight to workout and eat after, however my tummy was growling around 1:30 and had to get some lunch. I ordered a turkey, omelet, and avocado panini. It was so tasty. The egg really complemented the avocado well.
 I need to try to make this sandwich at home.
So good. After lunch, I headed out to lifetime to workout. I ellipticaled, lifted and swam. Such a good workout. I did some circuits like assisted pull-ups, dips and air squats with a weight. I even felt good when I was swimming. I’m starting to feel stronger in the water which is an awesome and missed feeling. 
decided to catch some rays after i swam. 
Headed to good ol trader joes for some sustenance for the week; loaded up the car and headed home.
Dinner consisted of sauteed shittake mushrooms, lentils with light Havarti cheese, cucumbers, mini pitas with goat cheese, cucumber, and salmon. This was such a light and refreshing meal. I will be having it again, minus the mushrooms since I’m out of them. 

Per my sweet-tooth, I had some dessert: 1/2 smashed frozen banana, 1 little scoop of homemade cinnamon ice cream, cinnamon chips, and melted dark chocolate.

Oh and I almost forgot to talk about my new favorite drink: sparking water with fruit in it! Such a cold refreshing drink and so easy. Take sparkling water and some fruit and viola! a refreshing drink!!

After dinner I played with the sunflowers I bought at the store,
put some in my bedroom &

on the mantle. I love how sunflowers brighten up a room, especially a bedroom. 

Several of my friends and I have been talking about the Gooey peanut butter cookies and how easy they are to make. We then started toying with making them with almond butter. Well tonight I tackled that challenge.  The recipe can be found here:

Needless to say, they turned out amazing. I added some cinnamon chips on top for some added delicicousness. 
What all did you accomplish today??  Did you get everything done you wanted??
xoxo,

Katie 

One thought on “Saturday tastes

  1. Pingback: What to Eat Wednesday II | The Dashing Dietitian

Leave a Reply

