Too many sweets hangover

I’m in a sweets hangover. I ate, and ate and ate delicious, amazing, not the best option for you food, and boy am I paying for it today. My body is revolting saying what did you do to me?? I admit, I enjoyed every bite of what I ate. These weekends are a must every once in awhile. You need a hiatus from the grind of always eating right, working out. Now it’s time to get back to eating right, working out, and cleaning up the diet, starting NOW.

 Some tips if you are in my situation. 

Avoid the scale today. 
After eating salty, sweet, food, and drinking alcohol, you’re not going to like the number you see on the scale. Wait a day after you’ve cleaned up the food you’re putting in and let your body sort itself out. 
Don’t punish yourself. 
You had a fun time, you enjoyed the food, and you realized you probably shouldn’t have had that last plate of taco dip and a cupcake. You can’t change what you ate. Realize this was a special occasion and not an everyday occurrence. 
Get back into your workout routine. 
Humans tend to be creatures of habit. We like consistency. Getting back into your routine will help you feel better. 
Watch what you eat for he next few days.
Enjoy your meals and if you’re not hungry don’t eat! Finally, 
HYDRATE
Dehydration will not help, only make you feel more blah. 


Before I flew back to St. Louis yesterday, I met with one my good swimming friends Chelsea. We were captains together my junior year, and have a lot of good and not so good memories together. It was her stairs that I fell down and broke my ankle, but it was also her house that I’ve some of the most fun staying in nights. Chelsea is such a good role model and motivator. I miss working out with her like crazy. We would feed off of each others positivity during practices to blaze through sets and hold times I didn’t think were possible. 
(we need to start taking more photos together, I struggled to find one!!)
Anyways after talking with her, she way motivated me for the triathlon this weekend. I am a bit nervous about the running portion of it, as well as the bike, but she instilled my confidence back in me! So today was a monumental day, I ran for the first time in weeks!!
I conquered 3 miles with NO pain. Two cheers for Katie’s ankle.
I needed to know that I could run on it and not have pain, mission accomplished. 
After the workout and a challenging CrossFit workout, I ran to Alyson’s to watch the Bachelorette. We’ll talk about that in a minute. First I want to highlight 2 dishes she made and share the recipes with you. 
The key ingredient in these dishes is the basil. It was so fresh and SO tasty. 
The first is a caprese tomato basil mozzarella salad and the second is quinoa, basil, tomato onion, red pepper salad, both SO good. Basil is great because it contains flavonoids. Flavonoids help protect DNA in the cells as well as free radicals from causing harm to the cells. Basil also protects against bacterial growth. The volatile oils in basil also provide anti-inflammatory effects like ibuprofen or Advil does. Finally, basil helps promote good cardiovascular health!!! It is high in vitamin A, and beta-carotene providing antioxidants!! It also contains iron, and calcium, potassium and vitamin C.
Who knew such a delicious spice could be SO beneficial!! 
(If you have more questions regarding this, please feel free to email me coffeeloversdilemma@gmail.com and I’ll be happy to help ya out 🙂 )
Now back to the recipes!
Tomato Basil Caprese Salad

Ingredients
4 large tomatoes
  2 cups mozzarella cheese
  8 -10 leaves fresh basil
4 tablespoons extra virgin olive oil
salt and pepper
 balsamic vinegar (optional)
Instructions 
Slice tomatoes and mozzarella cheese same thickness.
Arrange the tomatoes, mozzarella, and basil alternating in a circle around a decorative serving dish.
Drizzle with olive oil (and balsamic vinegar if desired).
Serve with salt and pepper to individual taste.

Nutrition Facts: 
Servings 4; Per serving: 320 calories, 14g protein, 26.3g fat

Soo the next recipe you’re going to have to wait for, because I don’t have it!! I forgot to ask for it before I left, so I am going to search for a substitute for you all first thing tomorrow morning!

Anyways back to the Bachelorette. I didn’t expect her to send Sean home!!!!! I was stunned that she chose Jef first. It’s not that I don’t like Jef, I just don’t know if he’s ready to be a father at this stage of the game.
What are your thoughts on  tonight’s episode??? Who do you think she will choose in the end??
xoxo,


Katie 
2 thoughts on “Too many sweets hangover

  1. I hope she chooses Jef! I know that everyone has been favoring Sean and Arie, but I think Jef is sweet and a good match for her. Personally, I don't think Arie is the kind of guy she is looking for because of his weird racing schedule and the amount of time he'll be away from home (plus I think he's a little shady).Please note that I am slightly embarrassed to have such strong opinions about this :o)

  2. I'm not sure that Jef is ready to be a dad yet. As his brother said during the home dates that he never really expressed wanting kids til now. If you can't tell im rooting for Arie. 🙂 and no need to be embarrassed because im right there with ya with the strong opinions 🙂

Leave a Reply

