Conquered the Bike Rack!!

This is what we call success.
I attached my bike rack to my car.  I will be the first to admit that I am car challenged. I don’t really know how to do much on it. Yet I conquered adding the bike rack.
First I took the tire off the back. 
Then I tried to stick on the bracket and the tire but I realized there was a cap blocking the peg that needed to stick through the tire. 
 So i took that off. Thankfully I had my pink tool set to help! 
Finally I got the front plate thing off!!!

 The rest was a breeze, I followed the instructions and viola its on the tire!!
 I will admit that I’ll miss the John Elway tire cover but the bike rack is a good addition. After I showered and washed off all the dirt, I made dinner, which was leftovers with sauteed spinach and eggplant with brie, basil and balsamic vinaigrette. Quite a delicious combo.

Between the bike rack, a great CrossFit workout, and a good day at work, I feel quite accomplished today. And as promised, here is a modified Quinoa basil tomato salad. Its from yummly.com
Basil Quinoa Salad
Ingredients:
 1 cup quinoa
2 cups water
2 cups cherry tomatoes (halved)
2 avocados (diced)
1 cup artichoke heart (chopped)
1/4 cup basil (chopped)
2 tbsps pine nuts* (toasted)
2 tbsps capers* (taste)
1 tbsp olive oil
1 red onion (thinly sliced)
3 tbsps balsamic vinegar
2 tbsps lemon juice
2 tbsps lemon zest
2 garlic cloves (minced)
1/3 cup extra virgin olive oil
pepper
* you can leave these items out if you desire

Instructions 

1.     Bring the quinoa and water to boil. When the water boils, reduce the heat to a simmer and cook until the water is absorbed, approximately 10 minutes. When cooked, quinoa has a texture similar to perfectly cooked pasta, or rice. Strain and rinse well under cold water.
2.     While the quinoa is cooking, in a skillet heat olive oil over medium heat and saute the onions until transparent.
3.     Prepare the vinaigrette by combining the ingredients and whisking.
4.     In a large salad bowl, toss all of the ingredients together, including caramelized onions and the vinaigrette.
Nutrient Info:
6 servings
Per serving: 361 calories, 7g protein, 25g fat, 3 g saturated fat


As you can see, this isn’t exactly a low calorie dish. This is due to the quinoa. It is an awesome whole  grain, high fiber, but not low calorie, so watch your serving size!!!
well I’m off to bed, I’m pooped.
What have you conquered this past week that you thought you couldn’t do???

xoxo,

Katie  
Leave a Reply

