New Town Triathlon… Check

1000 meter swim, 20 mile bike, and 4 mile run completed!!
The morning started out bright and early with water, coffee, banana, toast with jam, and overnight oats.
 I added some blueberries and granola on top!
 And we’re off to New Town in St. Charles, MO.
 When I got there, the staging area was already pretty packed. Luckily I was able to find a location for my stuff.
 I try to set up my clothes in a logical way to speed up my transitions. I think I did a decent job. I still need to work at putting on my shoes faster especially my cycling shoes, girl had butterfingers. 
Pre-race photo op!
 
Three cheers to Alyson for completing her first triathlon!!! She did awesome! Not only did she tear up the run (which I knew she would), she dominated the bike like a pro! She passed me like she was one of those fast fancy guys with the expensive bikes. I’m SO proud!! 
Time to gloat a bit about myself. I overcame the lake portion. This was a big issue for me. It seems so silly but I almost had a panic attack at the beginning when I couldn’t see. I had this problem when I swam too. I hated foggy goggles, especially in the long races. If my goggles fogged up during a race and I couldn’t see, I felt trapped like I was stuck in the race and couldn’t see my way out. I can’t explain why but I had more mental battles with myself over not stopping to clear my goggles or getting out due to sheer panic of not being able to see than I really should have. 
However, I did not stop, I did clear my goggles once or twice and was top 15 out of the swim. 
The bike is a completely different story. The bike is my weak leg, which I admit sucks. I don’t pass people I get passed. The good thing is that this gives me something to practice and get better at. 
Some things I learned watching people bike:
Stick your knee out a bit when you turn 
not the best image but does the job. They lean into the turn and stick out their left knee just a bit. This will help when you are down in the drops of the handlebars (figured this one by almost not making a turn and coming very close to crashing). Next, install a waterbottle rack either behind the seat or up on the handle bars. Luckily I had on my camel back because I did not once reach down for water. Thirdly, work on figuring out the gears to keep the same cadence or the rate that  I pedal to maximize my speed.
Finally I am going to save up and get a Tri suit. I have a lovely rub mark on my dairy aire from the padding not being in the right part and the edge rubbed. Pass that Neosporin!
With all that aside, we finished and really had a good race and a good time. 

After the race, it was time to pack up and get some brunch!
We went to 3 Monkey’s off of Morganford a delicious brunch consisting of:
an amazing omelet, just look at it cooking!!
Bloody Mary
 
Poached salmon with some crackers 
 a terrible waffle ( SO disappointed)
Then more fruit a brownie thing and an oatmeal raisin cookie. 
 
Brunch is one of my favorite meals. Minus the waffle, this was a delicious brunch ( they really should switch the waffles for french toast with walnuts and blueberries, but that’s just my opinion)
So that granola recipe from yesterday,
Here it is!!
Home-made Granola
Ingredients
6 cups old fashioned oats
1 cup chopped walnuts
1 cup sunflower seeds
1 cup slice almonds
1 cup wheat germ
3 tablespoons chia seeds
3 tablespoons flax seeds
2 scoops of vanilla protein powder
(Optional added dried fruit, coconut, craisins, raisins etc)
1 tablespoon cinnamon
2/3 cup Brown Rice Syrup or honey
½ cup canola oil
Instructions:
1.       Preheat oven to 325F.
2.       In a large bowl, mix together all the dry ingredients (minus the dried fruit)

3.       On the stove, hear the oil and brown rice syrup
( I didn’t have brown rice syrup for this batch so I used some vanilla (1 tablespoon)

4.       Once the oil and syrup are heated and starting to bubble, pour over the dried ingredients.
5.       Spread on a cookie sheet and bake 15-20 minutes. At about 15 minute or right as its starting to turn brown, add the dried fruit and bake for an additional few minutes.
6.       Remove from oven once it is golden brown.

7.       Let it cool and store in glass jars or Tupperware.
8.       Enjoy!!

Click here to print!

Off to watch Drop Dead Diva!

xoxo, 

Katie 

One thought on “New Town Triathlon… Check

Leave a Reply

