The Joys of a morning run

 I will be the first to admit, that I am not a morning person. However, this whole working thing, kind of makes you one. Also this 100 degree weather really messes up the whole running after work bit that I typically do, which leaves me with 2 options: run inside on the treadmill, or wake up and go for a run in the morning. I opted for the second option today. This weekend I am running a 5k in my home state of Colorado (so excited to go home!!), and haven’t been able to run much in the past few weeks. Usually I don’t worry about 5K’s but since it will be in the mountains (9000 feet above sea level) and i’ve ran about 4 times in the past 3 weeks, I figured I better get a few runs in this week (ankle willing, that is).
So this morning, I woke up and rolled out of bed at 4:55  ready for a great morning run. However, when I got up, it was still dark out, the sun was no where to be found. Confused, I went to my phone to see when the sun rises. Well much to my surprise, the sun doesn’t rise until 5:50! That means it isn’t light out until about 5:30. Well after much debate, I went back to bed for a few more minutes of sleep and get up at 5:30 for a quick run. However I didnt get up at 5:30, it was more like 6. Whoops. 
So as I sit here and drink my coffee, I gearing up for the day and realizing I am taking option number 2: running on the treadmill after work.

 In case people haven’t been outside lately, it is unbelievably hot. We are in a heat warning until Thursday evening. Knowing this, try not to exercise outside during the heat of the day, and stay hydrated!!! Make it your goal to get in at least 64 oz and close to 128 oz or more if you’re going to exercise.
Happy sipping!!

Xoxo,
Katie 
Leave a Reply

