Jamaican me crazy in love with this sauce

This bottle has SO much goodness in it, I can’t even begin to describe my love for it.
I need to throw out a huge thanks to my buddy Shawn for getting this for me. I tried it a few weeks ago and have been obsessed about it ever since.
The sauce is like a BBQ sauce but has that Jamaican Jerk seasoning. I found a recipe that I’m going to try once I move into my new apartment (which is tomorrow!!!!) and see if it even tastes close to as good as thing stuff. No worries I’ll keep ya posted on how it turns out!
Tonight I had it on a Salmon burger patty with some lentils, with artichokes and some goat cheese.
 
Between the goat cheese and the sauce I was in heaaavvveeennn!
Here’s the recipe for the sauce, I found it on http://www.jamaicans.com/cooking/sauces/jerk.shtml and think it should be pretty close to this sauce (at least I hope)
Jamaican Jerk Sauce
Ingredients:
1/2 cup Pimenta ( allspice berries)
1/2 cup packed brown sugar
6-8 garlic cloves
4-6 Scotch bonnet peppers
1 tablespoon ground thyme or 2 tablespoons thyme leaves
1-2 bunches scallions (green onions)
1 teaspoon cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon nutmeg
salt and pepper to taste
2 tablespoon soy sauce to moisten
Instructions:

Put content in a food processor or blender and liquefy
Pour sauce in a Jar and keep refrigerated.
The sauce will keep forever if kept refrigerated
To increase spiciness blend pepper and pimenta and add to sauce the peppers at any time.

Printable version:  


This morning started out with a delicious parfait with some homemade granola that Alyson made. She makes the BEST granola, mine is no where near as good as hers.
 
but the recipe is the same as the one posted Home-made Granola.
After work and crossfit, I had a date with the spin bike and some friends.
It was time to get my spin on so I could enjoy some chocolate clusters! A few days ago, Alyson and I made these and they are to die for!
Super easy to make and delicious!
Take some dark chocolate or milk chocolate and heat it up to melt it.
While that is heating, spread out almonds, pretzels, and espresso beans on parchment paper.

Once chocolate is melted pour it over the almonds almonds, and espresso beans.

Let cool and ENJOY!!!

Chocolate Clusters
Ingredients:
2-4 oz of dark chocolate (or milk chocolate)
2 cups almonds
2 cups crushed pretzels
1 cup espresso beans
Instructions:
Heat chocolate in the microwave or over the stove in a pan or in a heat resistant bowl over boiling water until melted.
While this is melting, crush up pretzels and spread the pretzels, almonds, and espresso beans on parchment paper.
Pour melted chocolate over the mixture and stick in the freezer to cool.
Once frozen, enjoy!!

Printable version:
Well off to get ready for the start of my move into the new apartment. Washed all my bedding and now need to fold it (the WORST PART!!)
Question of the night: what sauce do you love to put on foods??
xoxo,

Katie 

Leave a Reply

