Rainy day cooking!

Since hurricane Isaac is now on land, it has decided to bring lots of rain on my lovely day off.  This allowed me to get the rest of my apartment unpacked, do some laundry and cook a delicious dinner. 
Before dinner, I went to CrossFit for the first time in a week and let me tell you ouch!! Lot’s of squats later, I realized I need to not take unnecessary time off from working out. There is always time for something, even if its just something quick.
Back to dinner though. When I went to the store the other day, I picked up some Tempeh. I have always wanted to try it, and I am in no way turning into a vegetarian because I like it. I still love my meat but it’s nice to add some variety.
So why is Tempeh is good for you??
Well it contains isoflavones which strengthen bones, decrease risk of coronary artery disease, and some types of cancer. It is also a complete protein that has all the essential amino acids as well as lot of  fiber!!
All things that I just love from my food. 
Here’s how I made my temeph tonight!!
Tempeh and Green Pepper Stir-fry
Ingredients:
1 cup tempeh
Sprinkles of extra virgin olive oil
¼ cup of jamacian jerk seasoning (find here: Jamaican Jerk Sauce)
½ large green pepper chopped
2 cups spinach
2 tablespoons of garlic
2 tablespoons of sun dried tomato
½ cup edamame
Instructions:
1.       Marinate Tempeh in the Jamaican jerk sauce for at least 45 minutes
2.       Once the tempeh is marinated, sprinkle extra virgin olive oil on a frying pan.
3.       Sautee the tempeh in the olive oil, and the rest of the ingredients to the frying pan.
4.       Eat with some delicious bread (if you want) and enjoy!!

After this delicious dinner, I really wanted a cookie of some sort. Since I don’t have any in the house, I decided to make a coffee mug cookie. I did try to make it a bit better for me and switched out some ingredients and I think it turned out AWESOME. Totally hit the spot, especially with a banana with it!

(Not the prettiest looking thing but delicious)
Quick and Easy Cookie in a Mug
Ingredients:
1 tablespoon whole wheat flour
1 tablespoon white flour
1 tablespoon flaxseed
2 tablespoon egg whites
2 tablespoon PB2 peanut butter (or regular peanut butter)
2 tablespoon almond milk
1.5 tablespoon sugar
1 tablespoon chocolate chips
Instructions:
1.       Mix all the ingredients in a coffee mug.
2.       Heat in the microwave for 1-1/2 minutes. If not done heat for another 30 seconds.
3.       Enjoy!!
Nutrition Facts:
316 calories, 2g polyunsaturated fat, protein 13; total carbohydrate: 49g

Well I’m off to do some dishes and get myself ready for tomorrow, working on a saturday, yay for me!
 xoxo,

Katie 
Leave a Reply

