For the love of almonds

Nut butters and I have a special relationship, I am absolutely in love with them, and give me all the love right back.
Give me a little peanut butter, or almond butter, or sunflower butter and I’m in heaven. I’ve wanted to make my own almond butter and have found a recipe that I’m dying to try. I was going to make it tonight but don’t have enough almonds. 
This is courtsey of Two Peas and their Pod 
and it sounds so simple to and easy to make!!
Her recipe calls for almonds, salt, and honey.

My recipe deviated a little from hers in that I added a bit of almond milk and didn’t add salt ( we all my disdain for salt-stems from the profession I suppose). I was grinding and grinding and the almonds weren’t just cooperating, so a little almond milk went in.
However this did not change the deliciousness of the almond butter.

Honey Almond Butter

Ingredients:
2 cups of almonds
1 tablespoon honey
1.5 tablespoons almond milk
Instructions:
Mix in a food processor until smooth and creamy
Enjoy!
Printable Version Honey Almond Butter

 Lucky for you all, tonight’s post is a twofer. You’re getting two recipes!!
So starting on Monday I am going to try following the Paleo diet for two weeks. Since I have been doing crossfit for the past few months, I’m constantly asked do I follow Paleo?? When I answer no, I get funny looks on my face and typically its followed with “Oh really?? Even though it has all those health benefits and removal of foods that cause inflammation??”
Well I am a food lover. I love all food groups. I love yogurt, oatmeal, grains, dairy products and of course sweets. I am not one to put something down if I haven’t tried it, so here goes nothing. I will be posting the rules this weekend and the all the recipes I make.
So tonight I thought hmmmm  can I make a paleo version of a cake or cookie in a mug?? And the answer is YES!!
I’ll be honest, there is nothing low calorie about this. I’m using almonds, almond butter and flaxseed. These are all awesome foods but not low in calories. They are jam packed full of healthy fats. I’ll be honest, I did put a bit of vanilla whey protein powder which I’m not sure is allowed but I’m using it 🙂

Almond Cookie in a Mug
1 Serving
Ingredients:
2 tablespoons almond meal
1 tablespoon flaxseed
2 tablespoons egg whites
1 tablespoon almond butter
1 tablespoon almond milk
¼ scoop of vanilla Designer whey protein
Instructions:
Mix all the ingredients in a mug and heat in the microwave for 2 minutes.

Printable version Almond Cookie in a Mug

Slice a banana or top with berries and enjoy!!

Enjoy that bite, I know I did!!!

xoxo,

Katie


2 thoughts on “For the love of almonds

  1. I've tried a paleo diet! It's different bc I never knew if I was following all the rules right lol but I am part of a paleo recipe exchange group on Facebook that helped me out a lot when looking for recipes! I can add you to it if you want! Also, definitely ready to make my own nut butter, thanks for the recipe!Christine Lambert

Leave a Reply

