Paleo Day 1

Day 1 done.
Initial thoughts: was constantly hungry from 10:30 to now at 8:15.
Cravings: feta cheese, and mozzarella; milk for my afternoon coffee.
Negatives: GI system has been rocking and rolling. After work was famished and raided the kitchen before making dinner.
The morning started off with a delicious vegetable egg bake and some zucchini and pumpkin loaf and a banana (recipes to follow).
2012-09-17 07.31.52
2012-09-16 22.58.502012-09-16 22.59.012012-09-16 22.59.08
This was a good breakfast tasty and kept me relatively full until 10 am.
What I would have had:  Greek yogurt with some granola, banana, and raspberries 

What I wish I had with this dish:cheese ( this is really a tough one for me not to have with certain things like egg bakes) 

The flew by and before I knew it, I was sitting in a webinar eating my lunch and forgot to take pics, but this is what I had.
Leftover vegetable sauté (eggplant, zucchini, spinach, tomatoes, shallots) with some left over chicken breast.
raw veggie mix of green peppers, red pepper, carrots, cucumbers, and celery with a bit of almond butter.
A pluot, and some figs.
What I would have had:  I would have had all of this but with some cheese in the veggie sauté  
What I wish I had with it:  hummus to dip my veggies in 

The day went swimmingly until the computer charting system decided not to work pushing my already late self even later to class.
Oh well I made it and that’s all that matters!!
After class I came home( today is a day off from working out) and made a delicious pizza.
I am a lover of pizza and for me to like this cheese less pizza, that’s saying something. The crust is SO good.
2012-09-17 19.24.01
Almond flour Pizza Dough
Makes 1, 12-14 inch pizza
Ingredients:
1 3/4 cup almond butter
2 tablespoons flaxseed
1 tsp. honey
1 tsp. baking powder
1 egg
3 tablespoons egg whites
2 tablespoons olive oil
1 tsp. oregano
1 tsp. garlic powder
Instructions:
1. Preheat oven to 425F.
2. Mix all the dry ingredients and add in the oil and eggs
2012-09-17 18.36.32
3. mix and spread onto a pizza pan or sprayed cookie sheet.
2012-09-17 18.41.52
4. Bake for 8-10 minutes, pull out of the oven, add toppings and bake for another 8-10 minutes and enjoy!
Nutrition facts: 8 slices
88 calories, 7.9 g fat, 1.0 g fat,2.6g carbohydrate, and 2.9g protein
Printable version: Almond Flour Pizza Dough
2012-09-17 19.18.142012-09-17 19.21.37
After that   I was still a bit hungry so I turned to my trusty whatever in a mug.
I created a Pumpkin cake in a mug
Pumpkin Cake in a Mug
2012-09-17 20.08.08
1 Serving:
2 tablespoons  Almond Meal/Flour
2 tablespoon pumpkin
1 tablespoon egg white
1 tsp. agave nectar
1 tablespoon almond milk
1 tablespoon pumpkin pie spice
Mix in a mug and microwave for 2-3 minutes
Nutrition Facts:
151 calories, 11.4g fat, 10.3 g carbohydrate, 5.7g protein
Printable version: Pumpkin Cake in a Mug
I added a banana and almond flour on top which was quite tasty.
I think today eating paleo went really well. As I already mentioned I’m missing cheese and hummus and milk for my coffee in the afternoon. I also need to continue to watch portion sizes, especially with nuts. They are so tasty and so good for you, but high in calories.
In other news, McDonalds is now going to put their nutrition facts on the label. One small step, just like New York banning certain soda sizes.
Well that’s all for today. I’m off to read more articles and watch the Broncos vs. the Ravens. Right now it’s a struggle game for the Broncos, let’s hope we can pull this out!!
xoxo,
Katie
Leave a Reply

