Weekend Update

Happy Sunday!!

Not much going on here this weekend. After my excitement of the start of fall, I went to CrossFit. Good little workout with burpees and a lateral jump. You can bet I’ll be doing a workout this week with these . Then I hustled home to get ready for a presentation I had to give on low sodium diet. The group was awesome and asked lots of questions. I love when I give a presentation and the group is really interactive and asks lots of questions. Makes me feel like I might have ignited a few changes. After the presentation, went to a coffee shop to work on my weight management modules and take the quiz. In two weekends I am going to Philadelphia for the Food and Nutrition Conference and Expo (FNCE). Before this, I am partaking the Weight Management certifiate program. This will enhance my ability to counsel patients and weight loss. I’m pretty excited about it. I finished up the articles and took the pretest (required to take and pass before I could go to the session) and I passed (phew!). I ended up not getting home til 9 made quick dinner and went to bed.

This morning I woke up and was craving pancakes. Time to make some Paleo Pancakes.I topped mine with bananas, walnuts and some figs.


Paleo Pancakes
Makes 6
Ingredients
1/2 cup almond flour
2 tbsp flaxseed
1/2 tsp baking soda
1 egg
1/4 cup almond milk
1/4 cup raisins
1/2 cup frozen or fresh berries
1/2 tsp agave nectar
Instructions:
1. Mix the dry ingredients.
2. Add the eggs and milk. Mix well
3. Heat your skillet or pan.
4. Add in the berries and walnuts.
5. Cook until the pancake starts to bubble then flip and cook til golden brown. Enjoy!
Nutrition facts:
Per Serving:
110 calories, 6.4g fat; .8g saturated fat; 123mg sodium; 9.8g carbohydrate; 2.3 g fiber; 4.0g protein
Printable version here: Paleo Pancakes
After breakfast went to mass down the street at the basilica. I am pretty lucky that I can just walk down the street to the basilica and go to mass in such a beautiful place. Then it was time to fuel up quick before the long run of the weekend. The “snack” was a pumpkin walnut muffin, handful of almonds and raisins, carrots, an apple with some almond butter.

I’ll be honest, I had another handful of almonds and raisins ( I’m obsessed with this combo for some reason) and another half of a muffin. I was concerned I would get hungry on the run.
11 miles later we were done (no photos of this finish, it was not the best run in the world, Sarah and I were struggle bussing the last few miles, BUT we made it!!)
On the drive home, I stopped in at World Market to see if they have almond flour. No such luck, but I did get some teas that I’m quite excited to try:
I was wandering around since I’ve never been there and was amazed at the tea and coffee sections.

As well as ALL the hazelnut/ chocolate spreads
and the selection of European candies.
Then in the spice aisle, I just fell in love with these cans, too bad I didn’t need the spices!

After the World Market experience I headed to Trader Joes to pick up a few things for the week and look what I found…..
I am now in heaven. My love for pumpkin is taking over. I also picked up some flowers and some pumpkin sticks (yes, they’re real!!) for a beautiful fall bouquet. The lily or whatever the purple flower is was left over from the last bouquet and it was too pretty to toss.

Then had an after run snack, had a repeat of this beaut, (found here Banana Delight) with a hardboiled egg; half of a muffin and of course another handful of almonds and raisins.


Well time to get the homework done and maybe a quick power 20 🙂
xoxo,
Katie
Leave a Reply

