Monday thoughts

I will admit that I am a nerd who receives daily and weekly quotes in her email (one of the many reasons my inbox is so full). 
This week’s quote from Franklin Covey caught my attention:
 “The greatest results in life are usually attained by simple means and the exercise of ordinary qualities. These may for the most part be summed in these two: common sense and perseverance.”
– Owen Feltham   
Common Sense and perseverance two things that one might take for granted. I know for me, I rely on my common sense all the time and sadly I expect those i interact with on a daily basis to also use their common sense. What  I don’t realize is that things that I think is common sense may not be. This is extremely important when it comes to helping others, especially when working with people and food. Even though food is something that everyone eats on a daily basis, the basic knowledge of food can be lost in a person; due to no prior need of the knowledge. It makes me feel good that I can provide this information and help better a person’s common sense. This thought comes from an outpatient that called me today. He was talking about how he lost weight and now has a a better understanding of food  in regards of what to eat and what not to eat. Previously he had tried diets not understanding which foods to choose and which to avoid; as well as just trying to eat as little as possible. After discussing the different food groups, setting some goals, and developing a plan, he know has the common sense and the perseverance to lose weight and change his eating habits. Anyways I digress; just a thought of the power of knowledge. 
Anyways, today was class and then some yoga and dinner. I’ll be honest when  I say that working out at 7pm today was not sounding pleasant. And  I decided to head home for a bit of yoga. After a few sun salutations it was time for dinner. 
Tonight’s recipe was a stuffed pepper. I’ll be honest that there was no real recipe I followed and thats the great thing about stuffed peppers, you can throw whatever want in them!
For me it was 1/2 pound of ground beef, yellow squash, spinach and kale, fire roasted tomatoes, green chilies  leeks, and some egg whites. Stuff into the pepper and bake at 400 for about 20-30 minutes, serve and enjoy!
No need for a real recipe this one lets your imagination run wild!! 

Tomorrow is a fun filled day of work, crossfit and some homework; as well as a delicious spaghetti recipe!
Also i have been on Paleo for exactly one week. I will be honest when I say that I do like following this diet. I love all the veggies I’m eating, how its challenging me to make meals nightly and just rely on toast and peanut butter. My GI is slowly but surely adapting. One thing I do need to keep in mind is that just because I’m following a diet does not mean  I can pig out on almonds and raisins or bananas and almond butter. Moderation is still key, and I need to keep this in check.

How do you keep your moderation in check??
What do you have planned for Tuesday September 25th 2012?!?
xoxo,

Katie


Leave a Reply

