Changes in the weather

The changing of the seasons brings upon so many fun and exciting things to look forward to, apple picking, pumpkin pie, pumpkin spice lattes, football games, and the unfortunate cold. 

This girl has caught a cold. The exhausted, stuffy nose, sore throat and feeling achy and yucky cold. Cold medicine and emergen-c are my best friends right now.

2012-09-27 20.17.43

After work, came home and took a 2 hour power nap. It felt marvelous. I usually don’t get naps during the week and I forgot how much I love naps.

Once I woke up, I was a bit hungry and wasn’t really craving anything. I picked at some leftovers and decided to make some apple crisp. It’s almost as good as the real deal and way better for you!!

Paleo Apple Crisp

2012-09-27 18.58.41

6 Servings

Ingredients:

2 apples of your choice

1/4 cup almond flour

1/3 cup almonds, whole (roughly chop them)

2 tablespoons flaxseeds

2 tablespoons egg whites

3 tsp nectar agave

1.5 tablespoon cinnamon

Instructions:

1. Chop apples into quarter chunks. Preheat oven to 375F.

2012-09-27 18.22.41

2. Mix the rest of the ingredients together into a crumbly mixture.

2012-09-27 18.22.55

3. Mix half of the crumbly mixture with the apples.

4. Pour into a pie dish.

2012-09-27 18.25.11

5. Top with the rest of the crumbly mixture.

6. Bake for 30-40 minutes or until topping is golden brown.

Enjoy!

Nutrition facts:

Per Serving:

119 calories; 5.9 g fat; 0.5 g sat. fat; 15.3g carbohydrate, 4.3g fiber; 3.3 g protein

Printable version: Paleo Apple Crisp

 

 

2012-09-27 18.26.062012-09-27 18.26.142012-09-27 18.58.26

I topped mine with a bit of homemade almond butter and might have had seconds Smile.

2012-09-27 18.59.38

So I have been following Paleo for almost 2 weeks. I have to admit I really do like following this diet.  I no longer am craving chips and crackers or cheese ( crazy because I LOVE cheese). I am still struggling with breakfasts and end up having paleo oatmeal almost every morning. Find it here: paleo oatmeal. Gah so I thought I shared this recipe with you and didn’t EPIC fail.

well here it is!!

Paleo Oatmeal

1 Serving

Ingredients:

1 banana

3 tablespoons of egg whites

2 tablespoons of flaxseed

3 tablespoons of almond milk.

Instructions:

1.Mash banana and mix with the rest of the ingredients.

2. In a skillet on medium heat scramble the mixture like you would scramble eggs.

3. once the mixture is not runny, put in a bowl, top with your choice of toppings like walnuts and berries and enjoy!

Nutrition Facts:

218 calories, 1.5 g saturated fat, 8g fat, 35.1g carbohydrate, 9.1 fiber, 7.3g protein

Printable version here: Paleo Oatmeal

Wow so sorry I thought I gave you this recipe. I admit this is delicious!! I will share some pics of his delicious breakfast tomorrow!

Anyways back to paleo. This weekend I am going to add back in a few foods, skim milk for my coffee, some oatmeal, and lentils and some hummus I’m really missing these foods.

well this coughing girl needs to get to bed!

night!!

xoxo,

Katie

 

 

Leave a Reply

