Philadelphia day one

What an experience this has been so far! I am loving Philadelphia, the food, the people, the history, and of course all that I am learning at the Weight Management Certificate Program. The first has been filled with learning and fun. I now feel more confident in counseling patients in weight loss. My “tool box” is now filled with tips and techniques 🙂
Not only have I learned a lot, I have also seen and tried a lot of different foods.

So the one negative of being here is that both hotels I am staying at charge for internet, hence the delayed posts.

Breakfast started with Starbucks drip coffee with one pump of pumpkin spice, added cinnamon and nutmeg; oatmeal with a banana. Then for lunch I went to Reading Market (pics to follow when I get home, on my camera, no way to get onto the ipad) and ate at Mezze Mediterranean Foods. Reading Terminal market is a huge indoor farmers markets, fish market, meat market, delis, bakeries, diners, etc. Any type of food you amy want you can get there. So good! I got the the Mezze Chef salad: Romaine, spinach, Roasted Chicken, Prosciutto, provolone, mozzarella, carrots, roasted pepper, eggplant, and balsamic vinaigrette.
I then stopped at an amish candy store and picked up 2 pieces of dark chocolate covered walnuts, yum!

After the last session, I went home and had a snack of some trail mix that I brought, almonds, raisins, and peanut butter cheerios. I must have been more hungry than I realized, since I ate all of it! Whoops. Before going to dinner I squeezed in a quick workout, restless legs and needed to go tire them out.

Philadelphia Workout Day 1
30 minutes on the elliptical
30 bicep curls
30 tricep curls
30 dumbbell chest press (lay on bence and do bench press with dumbbells)3
60 lunges (30 each leg)
30 crunches
60 oblique crunches
3 30 second planks.

After working up a sweat it was time for dinner.

I stumbled upon this amazing restaurant: ZaVino
It is a wine, cheese, and pizza bar, and I would recommend it for anyone.
I started the night off with a glass of Pino Noir and some roasted Brussel Sprouts in a Sherry vinaigrette. These were to die for! Now on the hunt for a Sherry Vinaigrette recipe, let me know if you have one! This appetizer made me realize the Brussel Sprouts are my fall favorite vegetable for october (besides pumpkin of course) The main course was the POLPETTINI pizza: ricotta stuffed veal meatballs, mozzarella, crushed tomato, basil, shaved provolone with whole wheat crust. This with my Pino Noir wine, created one happy girl. Afew bites of a Tiramisu dessert (forgot to take a pic of this), topped off a great night.
I went back to my hotel to watch the Rams beat the Cardinals and ready to take on the next day.

What is your favorite vegetable and how do you prepare it??

xoxo,

Katie

Leave a Reply

