Weekend Wrap up

Hello lovelies! As my weekend wraps up with a cup of decaf chai tea and the cardinals, I realized I need to plan meals and workouts for this week, as well as reminisce on the weekend!
The weekend started out at Oktoberfest. Good beer, good food, and good friends. 
For dinner I had some ribs, sauerkraut potato salad, pretzel bread and some sauerkraut. I thought I didn’t like sauerkraut but I do (minus the breath it give you). That was followed by some potato latkes. 
 May need to make these this week.
Potato Latkes
Ingredients:
1 large baking potato (1 pound), peeled
1 small onion (4 ounces), peeled
1/4 cup all-purpose flour
1 large egg, lightly beaten
1 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoonfreshly ground pepper
Peanut oil, for frying
Instructions
1.    In a food processor or on a box grater, coarsely shred the potato and onion. For longer strands, lay the potato sideways in the chute of your food processor.
2.    Put in a colander, paper towel, or cheese cloth to dry out.  Let stand for 2 minutes, then squeeze dry again.
3.    In a large bowl, whisk the flour, egg, salt and pepper together.
4.     Stir in the potato onion mixture until all pieces are evenly coated.
5.    In a medium skillet, heat 2 tablespoons of vegetable oil until shimmering.
6.     Drop packed teaspoons of the potato mixture into the skillet and flatten them with the back of a spoon.
7.    Cook the latkes over moderately high heat until the edges are golden, about 1 1/2 minutes; flip and cook until golden on the bottom, about 1 minute.
8.    Drain on paper towels. Repeat with the remaining potato mixture, adding more oil to the skillet as needed.

Printable Version Here: Potato Latkes
We were lucky that the Cardinals game was being played at the festival. Couldn’t get any better, beer and the cardinals in the post season. 

After a fun night and too many beers, I met this lovely girl Alyson (go check out her blog: simplynutricising.com) for brunch at the City Diner. This girl needed an omelet and some coffee to set her straight. That was followed by some grocery shopping, cleaning, and a little nap. I decided to make Saturday my lazy day and just relax 🙂
Having a relaxing Saturday made me motivated to get stuff done on Sunday. Woke up and went for a little 4 mile run. I was really nervous about this run, my leg, more like my shin, has been really hurting me. I’ve had shin splints (spelling??) before as well as a stress fracture. The pain is in the same area as the previous stress fracture and is hurting worse. I’ll talk more about that in a later post, no need to dwell on the pain. I then went to mass and got some stuff done around the house, as well as attempted some homework. 
I was too excited to focus on homework because I was going to a baby shower!! One of the girls from my internship, is having a baby girl in February! She moved to Arizona and I haven’t seen her since she left in May. She is going to make just the cutest momma. It was kind of a themed shower: all of our favorite books from our childhood. Several of my favorite were already taken and  I couldn’t find these two
 
 so I went with Love is you & me
such a cute book!
&
The True Story of the 3 Little Pigs!
This was one of my favorite stories once I was a little older. It is quite a funny little story of what really happened as told by the wolf. I recommend it for anyone with a little one.

We enjoyed cupcakes from The Cup, 
 as well as seeing all the other books people liked when they were kids.

 And of course a little fun with the camera 🙂

 I have a feeling that this week will be a day by day thing for meals and working out. On Thursday I fly out to Michigan to celebrate my Grandpa’s 90th birthday, so the goal will be to use up leftovers and make sure food doesn’t go bad!
I do plan on making a beef stew or beef casserole of some sort.
So, my question for you is:
What is your favorite beef stew or casserole recipe??
xoxo,

Katie
Leave a Reply

