It’s goin down, I’m yelling timber

That line is clearly the line/song of the month. From eating it on ice, running a half marathon, surviving mardi gras, trying to balance work and play, it’s clearly goin down.  Life has been crazy and 2014 is only about to get crazier. After the persuasion of friends and family who state they miss the blog,  I’m back at it. No promises but It’s time to get back on the blog horse and share the creations from Katie’s kitchen, races, workouts, and just random stuff that I find interesting.

Here’s the last 2 weeks in review:

Last weekend was Florida for the Disney Princess Half and visiting family.

The race started with waking up at 3:15 to get the to the bus by 4. Not going to lie this sign kind of made my morning.

2014-02-23 04.48.58-1

This race I decided to get into the spirit of the princess half a bit and added in a sparkle skirt. I feel I really stepped up to the challenge… then realized I wasn’t in a tutu or a crown…. #failImageImage

Image

The race went surprisingly well considering the farthest I had ran was 8.4 miles on the monday before the race. I don’t recommend running a half untrained as your GI system might not like that, or the rest of your body for that matter. Luckily only one bodily system wasn’t happy with me, so I’ll take it.

The rest of the weekend was spent soaking up the sun, visiting with family, taking trip to the Tervis outlet. Side note if you are in Sarasota, you need to go the tervis outlet it’s like a any type of non sweat cup you want you can find.

2014-02-25 09.01.50

Love the mustache :l)

2014-02-23 11.41.19 2014-02-24 14.46.33 2014-02-24 15.45.092014-02-25 11.36.34

So these next pictures do not do justice to how good of a cook my uncle is. He has the Green Egg smoker/grill and holy did I eat well. The marinades and the seafood, i was in HEAVEN!!

Nothing like Shrimp and some CL’s after a half 🙂

2014-02-24 17.56.15

Salmon…. need I say more??

2014-02-24 20.07.33

BBQ chicken and pork tenderloin

#NOMNOM

2014-02-24 20.07.55

The seafood extravaganza did not stop there. I then went to dinner with the lovely Abby at West End Grill on Thursday. I was pretty pumped that I was there to experience her first oyster. They were no SKOB oysters but still tasty.

2014-02-27 19.26.12

That was followed by some amazing coconut macaroons and cinnamon ice cream. Oh what I would do for a macaroon right now!!

2014-02-27 21.56.24

We’ll end this Katie’s back blogging post with a photo of some faves. Laura from Burgersnberries and Sarah- oh the shenanigans that will ensue in the next few months.

2014-02-28 22.28.11-2

Stay tuned for Mardi Gras and some recipes to whip up for Tuesday celebration!! But in the mean time, what have you all been up to??

Xoxo,

Katie

 

 

Leave a Reply

