Galentine’s Day: February 13th

It’s only the best day of the year!  

This weekend was one for the books, with the kick off of fish fry season, I mean Lent, Galentine’s Day, and lots of good times and laughs with friends. I also learned that I am not helpful at all with trivia, I think I might have contributed to maybe 5 questions  😳.  While trivia may not be my thing, brunching definitely is.  And when I heard about Galentine’s Day, I knew that it will forever be an important holiday. 

  

What you need for a successful brunch: good food, good drinks, your lady friends, and chocolate.

If you live in Saint Louis and you haven’t been to The Shack for brunch, you need to go there like yesterday. One of my favorite brunch spots, thus making the perfect place for brunch.

First start with an appetizer of bacon  

 
Yes I know, it’s bacon…..I’m a dietitian that loves bacon. Everything moderation, right?!

Then order some delicious entrees like the Mexican Stand Off   

Or the Because we can E-Z

   You really can’t go wrong with anything on the menu. 

Next some decorations. All I can say is thank goodness for Pinterest. I found these awesome decorations, and thank you to the pizzazzerie.com for creating these.  http://cf.pizzazzerie.com/wp-content/uploads/2015/02/GALENTINES-Printables-PIZZAZZERIE.pdf

   

    
    
   

Finally a little sweet treat to celebrate this sweet weekend.

   

 Recipe found on allrecipes.com and modified a bit. 

Seriously my  friends are the just the best and any excuse to celebrate something with them, you bet I’m going to plan an event 🙂  

   

After brunch we pit stopped for a drink before seeing How to be Single. If you’ve seen it, what are your thoughts? If you haven’t; I won’t ruin it for you but it wasn’t what I was expecting. I did have a lot of laugh out loud moments but still wasn’t what I was expecting, like crying from sadness not laughing. Yes, I was that girl, crying in a comedy. Anyways Galentine’s Day 2016 was a success. The best part though, valentines day was the next day, all the more reason to spread the love and eat all the chocolate.

Did you know dark chocolate is extremely heart healthy? It can help prevent heart disease, gives you endorphins to improve your mood, and can help protect your skin. All the more reasons to eat more dark chocolate.

How did you celebrate this weekend?!

xoxo,

Katie

 

 

Leave a Reply

